I live to learn

I know I’m alive for my heart keeps on beating,

But somehow I feel that my life is retreating.

I once had a child, just lent for a while,

He had longing to journey for many a mile.

worked and worked but wanted to play

and found that he just couldn’t stay.

I blunder on with hands that are bound,

while the jaws of age at my heels hound.

I retreat into tried and tested ways,

Sometimes wishing to return to the olden days.

But there’s a future to face and lessons to learn

the past is where it should be, so let it burn.

Why? because the best is yet to come,

I would not be still here if my job were done

Be brave, be courageous! Take the bull by the horns

Life has its  roses as well as its thorns.

Leave a Reply

